How do you detach a central file in Revit?

On the Documents tab, expand the Work in progress folder (or any working folder). Right-click a Revit central file and select Detach from central. The Select detach destination dialog opens.

What does detach from central mean in Revit?

When you tick Detach from Central it create a copy of the original Central File. This copy, when saved, is still another worksharing central file, independent from the original.

How do you change a file from central to local in Revit?

Use this procedure if you have already opened the central model, and you want to create a local copy of it.

  1. Click File tab Save As (Project).
  2. In the Save As dialog, navigate to the desired location on the Revit Server network or on your hard drive.
  3. Enter a name for the file, and click Save.

Should I detach from central Revit?

If you choose to discard worksets, you discard the worksets and all related element assignments and visibility settings. These cannot be restored. However, you can create new worksets in the model. If you detach from the central model, you cannot synchronize with other user’s edits to the central model.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do you flip a leader in AutoCAD?

Why can’t I detach from central Revit?

The network connection/resource is busy, or disconnected (likely culprit) Someone is creating a local at the same moment (less often, but happens) Opening a file created in a newer version of Revit (less often) File is a Local file (user copied a local over a central)

How do I make a Revit model a central file?

Create a Central Model from an Existing Workshared Model

  1. Open the existing workshared file.
  2. Click File tab Save As (Project).
  3. In the Save As dialog, rename the file, and click Options.
  4. In the File Save Options dialog, select Make this a Central Model after save.
  5. Select a default workset for local copies.

Can you have two Revit files open at once?

Try to open the different revit project files inside the same revit session (CTR + O). You should be able to get all in the same revit session.

What is a Revit central model?

Enabling worksharing involves creating a master project model, known as a central model, from an existing model. The central model stores the current ownership information for all worksets and elements in the project, and acts as the distribution point for all changes made to the model.

How do you purge in Revit?

Go to “Manage” tab > “Purge Unused” (under Settings panel), select “Check All” to automatically purge unnecessary model elements. Also, remove unused Links. Got to “Manage” > “Manage Links” (under Manage Project panel). Click through the tabs to remove all the links (AutoCAD and Revit Links) from the file.

How do I sync Revit files?

To save your changes locally, use the keyboard shortcut Ctrl+S. To save your changes to the central model using the current settings, click the Collaborate tab > Synchronize panel > Synchronize with Central drop-down > Synchronize Now.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: How do I make ribbon visible in AutoCAD?

How do I unlock a Revit file?

Just click on view template in the properties panel and then click on model ovverides etc. Or select “none” in view template list, click ok. Now you can type vv or vg and manually control all. If it is a central/workshared file you have to “detach from central” first.

How do I enable Workharing in Revit?

Enable Worksharing

  1. Open the project file (RVT) to use as the central model.
  2. Click Collaborate tab Manage Collaboration panel (Worksets). …
  3. If desired, rename the worksets.
  4. In the Worksharing dialog, click OK. …
  5. In the Worksets dialog, click OK. …
  6. Click File tab Save As (Project).

How do Revit Worksets work?

When you make a workset editable in Revit, you are taking exclusive ownership of all objects in it. Only one user can exclusively edit each workset at a given time. All team members can view worksets owned by other team members, but they cannot always make changes to them.

Special Project