How do you save a detached model in Revit?

How do I save a Revit model?

To save a copy of a file, use the Save As tool.

  1. Click File tab (Save As).
  2. Select a Project, Family, Template, or Library file type to save.
  3. In the Save As dialog, navigate to the desired folder.
  4. If desired, change the file name.
  5. To specify save options, click Options, set the options as desired, and click OK.

What happens when you detach from central Revit?

When you tick Detach from Central it create a copy of the original Central File. This copy, when saved, is still another worksharing central file, independent from the original.

Why can’t I detach from central Revit?

The network connection/resource is busy, or disconnected (likely culprit) Someone is creating a local at the same moment (less often, but happens) Opening a file created in a newer version of Revit (less often) File is a Local file (user copied a local over a central)

Unload linked models to temporarily remove them from the project.

  1. Click Manage tab Manage Project panel (Manage Links).
  2. In the Manage Links dialog, click the relevant tab.
  3. Select the linked model.
  4. To unload the selected model, click Unload.
IT IS INTERESTING:  How do you offset text in AutoCAD?

How do I sync Revit files?

To save your changes locally, use the keyboard shortcut Ctrl+S. To save your changes to the central model using the current settings, click the Collaborate tab > Synchronize panel > Synchronize with Central drop-down > Synchronize Now.

What is a Revit central file?

The central model stores the current ownership information for all worksets and elements in the project, and acts as the distribution point for all changes made to the model.

How do I unlock a Revit file?

Just click on view template in the properties panel and then click on model ovverides etc. Or select “none” in view template list, click ok. Now you can type vv or vg and manually control all. If it is a central/workshared file you have to “detach from central” first.

How do I save a Revit file as a central model?

Help

  1. Open the existing workshared file.
  2. Click File tab Save As (Project).
  3. In the Save As dialog, rename the file, and click Options.
  4. In the File Save Options dialog, select Make this a Central Model after save.
  5. Select a default workset for local copies. …
  6. In the Save As dialog, click Save.

How do I enable Workharing in Revit?

Enable Worksharing

  1. Open the project file (RVT) to use as the central model.
  2. Click Collaborate tab Manage Collaboration panel (Worksets). …
  3. If desired, rename the worksets.
  4. In the Worksharing dialog, click OK. …
  5. In the Worksets dialog, click OK. …
  6. Click File tab Save As (Project).

How do I change a central file in Revit?

Click File > Open > Project in Revit. Navigate to the existing location (or to the new location, if the model has been moved elsewhere). Select the central file and uncheck “Create New Local“. This will allow you to open the central model directly.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What is raster in autocad?

What is Revit cloud worksharing?

Revit Cloud Worksharing allows you to collaborate on Revit models, leading to accelerated timelines and a more efficient project workflow. … You can co-author cloud models, centralize all project design data, and improve communication and collaboration across the entire team.

How do Revit Worksets work?

When you make a workset editable in Revit, you are taking exclusive ownership of all objects in it. Only one user can exclusively edit each workset at a given time. All team members can view worksets owned by other team members, but they cannot always make changes to them.

Special Project