What is work sharing in Revit?

Worksharing is a design method that allows multiple team members to work on the same project model at the same time. … You can enable worksharing to create a central model so that team members can simultaneously make design changes to a local copy of the central model.

Can multiple people work on one Revit file?

Use worksharing to allow multiple users to work on different parts of one Revit project. Worksharing allows simultaneous access to a shared model through use of a central model. Use worksharing when you are working with a single model (one RVT file) that will have multiple team members working on it.

How does Revit collaboration work?

Revit provides several different ways to collaborate with team members who are also using the software. You can link multiple Revit models together, allowing team members to work in context. Through worksharing, users on the same local area network (LAN) can work together in the same Revit model.

How do I turn off work sharing in Revit?

Disable Worksharing

  1. Click File tab Open.
  2. Select a workshared model.
  3. In the Open dialog, select Detach from Central.
  4. Click Open. The default file name for the model is the original filename with “_detached” appended. …
  5. In the task dialog, specify whether to preserve or discard worksets. …
  6. Save the model.
IT IS INTERESTING:  How do you show an existing phase in Revit?

How do you share files in Revit?

Click Collaborate tab Manage Collaboration panel (Worksets). Note: If you have installed the Collaboration for Revit add-on, then: Click Collaborate tab Manage Collaboration panel Collaborate. In the Collaborate dialog, select Collaborate within your network and click OK.

How do you collaborate in Revit 2020?

Click Collaborate tab Manage Collaboration panel (Worksets). Note: If you have installed the Revit Cloud Worksharing add-on, then: Click Collaborate tab Manage Collaboration panel Collaborate. In the Collaborate dialog, select Collaborate within your network and click OK.

How do I use Workharing in Revit?

Enable Worksharing

  1. Open the project file (RVT) to use as the central model.
  2. Click Collaborate tab Manage Collaboration panel (Worksets). …
  3. If desired, rename the worksets.
  4. In the Worksharing dialog, click OK. …
  5. In the Worksets dialog, click OK. …
  6. Click File tab Save As (Project).

Can you collaborate on Revit?

Revit provides several different ways to collaborate with team members who are also using the software. You can link multiple Revit models together, allowing team members to work in context. Through worksharing, users on the same local area network (LAN) can work together in the same Revit model.

How do you collaborate in cloud Revit?

The modifications sync to the central model located in the C4R cloud. To enable worksharing, on the Collaborate ribbon, in the Manage Collaboration panel, click Collaborate. Revit displays the Collaborate dialog. There are two options here: Collaborate within your network and Collaborate using the cloud.

How do I delete a Revit model 2020?

Click File tab Open. Select a workshared model. In the Open dialog, select Detach from Central.

IT IS INTERESTING:  You asked: How do I add a library to chief architect?

Where are Revit local files?

When working on Collaboration for Revit files, local copies are saved at the following file path: C:Users%USERNAME%AppDataLocalAutodeskRevit<Autodesk Revit Version>CollaborationCache.

How do I share 3D models in Revit?

A360 Viewer is an online file viewing application that can be useful to quickly share a model with stakeholders. Drop a Revit model into its browser window to open the model for viewing. Then share a link to the file (where it is stored for 30 days) or start a live session for real-time review of the model.

Special Project